Paci, Binkie, Dummie… Pacifiers!

From the moment I found out I was pregnant with our second son, my husband and I agreed that we would not use a pacifier. And then he was born. While I still held on and refused to use a pacifier on our son for fear that it would cause nipple confusion, my husband was adamant on buying at least a few “just to keep him happy!” and because pacifiers have been thought to reduce the risk of SIDS. Just like with almost everything we’ve bought our son, I decided to do my research. I have listed my three favorites along with useful information on each.

Right now we’re using Avent Soothie Pacifiers and Chunkas seems to like these the most. Unlike other pacifiers that seem to be oddly shaped, the Soothie closely resembles a nipple, and since Chunkas is EBF, its no surprises he has responded best to these. I am a fan of these pacifiers for a number of reasons but I’ll just list my favorites.

  1. No BPA! BPA, or bisphenol A, is a chemical used to make some plastics and resins and “Exposure to BPA is a concern because of possible health effects of BPA on the brain, behavior and prostate gland of fetuses, infants and children.” (mayoclinic.org)
  2. One single piece instead of pieces that can fall off or break. The Soothie is made of high-quality silicone, instead of the attached piece that most other pacifiers have.
  3. Ease of sanitizing. The Soothie is very easy to sanitize because of the high-quality silicone and the fact that it is dishwasher safe.

MAM is one of my favorite companies for high quality baby products and they also make great pacifiers. While, of course, being BPA free, MAM makes their pacifier’s nipples out of either high quality silicone or a natural, sustainably sourced latex, giving parents a choice and an option. These pacifiers also come in some pretty darn cute designs too! Newborn is pretty basic, but once your LO starts climbing that ladder, you can pick between different shields, designs, and even glow-in-the-dark pacifiers!

Lastly, Dr. Brown’s PreVent Pacifiers. These pacifiers are pretty neat! The nipple has their patented Suction-Free Air Channel that helps reduce suction on the roof of your baby’s mouth, is designed to help lower the pressures inside your baby’s mouth by spreading while being sucked, and the stem is extremely thin and comfortable as opposed to the bulky ones. Like other paci’s, these are available in three different sizes and plenty of super cute designs and colors.

These three companies are Chunkas’ and my favorites and we highly recommend each one of them. There are plenty of different companies that make pacifiers and every child is different from the next, so I highly suggest each parent does their own research. I have provided what I have learned and what my child and I like, but I cannot guarantee that you and your child will feel the same. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask and if you have anything you would lie to add, please feel free to do so!  

 

Leave a comment